DOAV Banner Logo

Virginia Aviation Board

The Virginia Aviation Board establishes financial assistance programs, sets policies to guide the funding programs and to promote and develop safe aviation practices and operation in Virginia, and allocates funds for capital improvement projects. The board hears airport sponsor and citizen concerns on matters pertaining to aviation and acts as a liaison to the department in an effort to be responsive to local jurisdictions, users of the system, and citizens.

Members of the Virginia Aviation Board are appointed by the Governor and represent defined geographic areas of the Commonwealth


Randall Burdette

Region 1

Sophie Chafin Vance

Blue Ridge Regional, Breaks Regional, Lee County, Lonesome Pine, Mountain Empire, New River Valley, Tazwell County, Twin County, Virginia Highlands, Virginia Tech/Montgomery Executive

Region 2

Victoria Cox

Bridgewater Air Park, Charlottesville-Albemarle, Eagle’s Nest, Front Royal-Warren County, Gordonsville Municipal, Ingalls Field, Luray Caverns, New Market, Orange County, Roanoke-Blacksburg Regional, Shenandoah Valley Regional

Region 3

Craig Parisot
Culpeper Regional, Leesburg Executive, Manassas Regional Shannon, Stafford Regional, Warrenton-Fauquier, Washington Dulles, Washington National, Winchester Regional

Region 4

Alan Abbott

Hanover County Municipal, Lake Anna, Louisa County, New Kent County, Richmond Executive-Chesterfield County, Richmond International, Tappahannock-Essex County

Region 5

Cheryl McLeskey
Allen C. Perkinson Municipal, Brookneal-Campbell County, Crewe Municipal, Danville Regional Dinwiddie County, Falwell, Farmville Regional, Lynchburg Regional, New London, Smith Mountain Lake, William M. Tuck

Region 6

Donald Robertson

Brunswick County, Chase City Municipal, Emporia-Greenville Regional, Franklin Regional, Lake Country Regional, Lunenburg County, Mecklenburg-Brunswick Regional, Wakefield Municipal

Region 7

Vanessa Christie

Accomack County, Chesapeake Regional, Hampton Roads Executive, Hummel Field, Middle Peninsula Regional, Newport News-Williamsburg International, Norfolk International, Suffolk Executive, Tangier Island, Williamsburg-Jamestown

Board Meeting Library

Scroll to Top