Skip to main content

Need vaccine? Learn how to get your shot at Vaccinate.Virginia.gov or call 1-877-VAX-IN-VA. Mon-Sat 8am-6pm. Language translation and online American Language available.  Virginia Relay users dial 7-1-1.

¿Necesitas vacunarte? Entérate cómo conseguir tu vacuna en Vaccinate.Virginia.gov o llamando al 1-877-829-4682 de Lun-Sáb 8am-6pm. Traducción disponible en tu idioma. Usuarios de TTY pueden marcar al 7-1-1.

GA Aircraft Could Face $1,000 Landing Fee in Massachusetts

A state senator in Massachusetts has submitted a bill that would require a $1,000 fee for every landing made by a private, corporate or charter aircraft on a publicly operated runway anywhere in that commonwealth.  Sen. Julian Cyr, who represents Cape Cod in the Massachusetts Senate, is hoping his colleagues will adopt “an Act to mitigate the climate impact of private and corporate air travel.”

Public aircraft, scheduled commercial passenger air transportation, freight and cargo aircraft are exempt in the proposal.

If approved, the new law states that every “airport commission governing a municipal or county owned airport or the board of directors of the Massachusetts port authority shall assess a climate impact landing fee of not less than one thousand dollars on personal aircraft, corporate owned aircraft and charter rental aircraft each time that any such an aircraft is to land at an airport in the commonwealth.”

The landing fee would be split between the airports and the Commonwealth of Massachusetts.