Skip to main content

DOT Sets Membership for Women Aviation Advisory Board

U.S. Transportation Secretary Elaine Chao selected 30 industry and academic leaders to serve as members of the newly formed Women in Aviation Advisory Board (WIAAB). Congress called for the creation of the board in the FAA Reauthorization Act of 2018 to develop strategies and recommendations to bring more women and girls into aviation. The board will look at education, training, mentorship, outreach, and recruitment efforts.

Former U.S. Air Force Secretary Heather Wilson was selected as chair of WIAAB. An instrument-rated private pilot and aircraft owner, Wilson currently is president of The University of Texas at El Paso and had served as the 24th secretary of the Air Force, as well as a U.S. Congress member representing New Mexico.

DOT Sets Membership for the Women Aviation Advisory Board

US Transportation Secretary Elaine Chao Appoints Industry Leaders to Women in Aviation Advisory Board