Skip to main content

Industry Reps Selected for Aviation Jobs Task Force

The U.S. Department of Transportation has appointed 20 representatives from across the industry to serve on a newly-formed Youth Access to American Jobs in Aviation Task Force that will work to encourage high school students to pursue aviation careers. Established at the behest of Congress, the task force will consider means to help steer U.S. high school students toward technical and STEM educations, including those related to aviation. The task force will explore possibilities for apprenticeships, workforce development programs, and careers in the U.S.

Sharon DeVivo, president of Vaughn College of Aeronautics and Technology, will chair the task force.  Others on the committee include Joanne "Jo" Damato  (NBAA), Amy Voss (Cirrus Aircraft), Brett Levanto (the Aeronautical Repair Station Association), Kasey Herzberg (Aircraft Data Fusion), Stacey Bechdolt (the Aerospace Education Resource Organization), Joey Colleran (Redbird Flight Simulations), Ralph Coppola (Real World Design Challenge), Whitney Dix (Southwest Airlines), Joel English (Centura College), Ryan Goertzen (Maintenance Workforce Development), James Hall (Wichita State University), Jennifer Henderson (Boeing Aircraft), and Nancy Shane Hocking (JetBlue Airways).

Other members include Tammera Holmes (Aerostar Avion Institute), John Hornibrook (Horizon Airlines/Alaska Air Group), John Huff (Haeco Americas/ Aeronautical Repair Station Association), David Purser (Karnes City High School), Yvette Rose (Cargo Airline Association), and Cyd Smith (Elkins Park School).

“This task force will help identify and develop pathways to encourage a diversity of young people to enter the exciting aviation sector of the future,” said Transportation Secretary Elaine Chao in announcing the appointments.