Skip to main content

Air Education and Training Command Honors First Women Pilots in Air Force

In honor of the first women who became pilots of the U.S. Air Force, Air Education and Training Command (AETC) officials renamed the Martin Hall Conference Room, the Trailblazer Room, during a virtual ceremony held on June 29, 2020.

Located at AETC headquarters, the newly renamed Trailblazer Room was dedicated to the first 10 women who earned their silver wings Sept. 2, 1977.

In 1975, the chief of staff of the Air Force announced the establishment of a test program for female pilots and navigators. Although women had already proven their ability to fly military aircraft, such as the WASPs had in World War II, this test program would establish a precedent for the future of Air Force female pilots. The candidates were all Air Force officers from various career fields, including a nurse, engineer, and maintenance officer.

“The women of class 77-08 truly broke barriers,” said Lt. Gen. Brad Webb, AETC commander, who presided over the ceremony. “They lived the fact that glass ceilings were a reality simply because they were women. These trailblazers paved the way for future generations of female pilots and their influence on our Air Force is still felt today.”

The 10 women of undergraduate pilot training class 77-08 who were honored are—Kathleen A. Cosand, Victoria K. Crawford, Mary E. Donahue, Connie J. Engel, Kathy LaSauce, Mary M. Livingston, Susan D. Rogers, Carol A. Scherer, Christine E. Schott, and Sandra M. Scott.

AETC Honors first women pilots in air force history