Tax Penalties and Interest
When any person fails to file a return or pay the full amount of tax required by the Code of Virginia within the 30 days required for filing and payment, a penalty in the amount of 6% is added to the 2% Aircraft Sales and Use Tax. An additional 6% of the tax is charged for each additional 30-day period. The additional penalty will not exceed 30%.
Interest is determined at a rate in accordance with the Code of Virginia §58.1-15 and applies to the unpaid amount of the tax from the day after the due date for timely filing. Interest on the payment of the tax will accrue until the tax is paid.