Skip to Content
Agencies | Governor
Search Virginia.Gov
Virginia Department of Aviation

About DOAV

Virginia Airports

Programs

Licensing

Executive Air Service

Communications/Education

Calendar

Procurement

Forms/Reports

Links

FOIA Policy

Site Map

Airport Services Division

The Airport Services Division provides airport sponsors and managers with technical assistance on a wide range of projects and issues, including the planning, design, construction and maintenance of airport facilities.  The division manages funding programs for capital improvements, facilities and equipment, airport maintenance projects, and airport security; the General Aviation Voluntary Security Certification Program; the licensing program for public-use airports; and the registration program for private-use airports.  This division conducts statewide aviation system planning and maintains the Virginia Air Transportation System Plan. 

Photo of P. Clifford Burnette, Jr.

 

P. Clifford Burnette, Jr. is the Director for the Airport Services Division.  He is responsible for managing the funding programs noted above and the delivery of services to airport sponsors and managers, consultants, local governments, and others.  He can be reached at 804-236-3646, extension 63646 or cliff.burnette@doav.virginia.gov.

The Airport Services Division is divided into the Planning and Environmental Section, the Engineering Section , and the Security and Facilities Section and is supported by an administrative assistant.  To provide efficient service to airport sponsors and managers, staff within each section are assigned to individual airports as primary contacts.  The assignments and staff contact information are provided in the airport assignment list below.  Inquiries and concerns for specific airports should be directed to the assigned planner or engineer. 

Planning and Environmental Section

R. N. (Rusty) Harrington, Manager
(804) 236-3522, extension 63522
rusty.harrington@doav.virginia.gov

The Planning and Environmental Section’s responsibilities include:

Engineering Section

J. Michael Swain, Manager
(804) 236-3640, extension 63640
mike.swain@doav.virginia.gov

The Engineering Section’s responsibilities include:

Security and Facilities Section

Vernon W. Carter, Jr., Manager
(804) 236-3626, extension 63626
vernon.carter@doav.virginia.gov

The Security and Facilities Section’s responsibilities include:

Grant Administrative Assistance

Patty Sturgill serves as the administrative assistant for the funding programs managed by the Airport Services Division.  In this role, she processes and tracks applications, grant agreements, grant amendments, reimbursement requests, and grant closures for the noted programs.  For the Airport IQ program, Ms. Sturgill is responsible for assigning passwords to sponsors, managers, and consultants and for maintaining contact information in the database.  Ms. Sturgill can be reached at 804-236-3636, extension 63636 or patty.sturgill@doav.virginia.gov.

Airport Assignment List

 

Airport Services Contact Information
Airport Services Division Contact Information
Burnette, Cliff 804-236-3646, ext 63646 cliff.burnette@doav.virginia.gov
Carter, Vernon 804-236-3626, ext. 63626 vernon.carter@doav.virginia.gov
Denny, Scott 804-236-3638, ext. 63638 scott.denny@doav.virginia.gov
Harrington, Rusty 804-236-3522, ext. 63522 rusty.harrington@doav.virginia.gov
Hart, John 804-236-3629, ext. 63629 john.hart@doav.virginia.gov
Jordan, Alton 804-236-3644, ext. 63644 alton.jordan@doav.virginia.gov
Simmers, Susan 804-236-3627, ext. 63627 susan.simmers@doav.virginia.gov
Sturgill, Patty 804-236-3636, ext. 63636 patty.sturgill@doav.virginia.gov
Swain, Mike 804-236-3640, ext. 63640 mike.swain@doav.virginia.gov
Weaver, Chad 804-236-3633, ext. 63633 chad.weaver@doav.virginia.gov
Wells, Amy 804-236-3645, ext. 63645 amy.wells@doav.virginia.gov