Online Services | Commonwealth Sites | Help | Governor

Virginia Department of Aviation

About DOAV

Virginia Airports



Executive Air Service






FOIA Policy

Site Map

Aerospace Advisory Council

The purpose, powers and duties of the Aerospace Advisory Council are to advise the Governor on policy and funding priorities to promote aerospace and space exploration industry in the Commonwealth, the Joint Commission on Technology and Science, and the Secretaries of Commerce and Trade, Technology, and Education on policy and funding priorities with respect to aerospace economic development, workforce training, educational programs, and educational curriculum. The Council shall suggest strategies to attract and promote the development of existing aerospace companies, new aerospace companies, federal aerospace agencies, aerospace research, venture and human capital, and applied research and technology that contribute to the growth and development of the aerospace sector in the Commonwealth. (Code Reference: § 2.2-2698)

The Council is composed of a total membership of 19 members that shall consist of four legislative members and15 nonlegislative citizen members. Members shall be appointed as follows: three members of the House of Delegates to be appointed by the Speaker of the House of Delegates in accordance with the principles of proportional representation contained in the Rules of the House of Delegates; one member of the Senate, to be appointed by the Senate Committee on Rules and15 nonlegislative citizen members, of whom one shall represent the Mid-Atlantic Regional Spaceport, one shall represent Old Dominion University, one shall represent the University of Virginia, one shall represent Virginia Tech, and five shall represent aerospace companies or suppliers within the Commonwealth, to be appointed by the Governor, and serve with voting privileges. The Directors of the Department of Aviation, the National Institute of Aerospace, the Virginia Tourism Authority and the Virginia Space Grant Consortium shall serve as memberswith voting privileges. A representative of NASA Wallops Flight Facility,and a representative of NASA's Langley Research Center,eachto be appointed by the Governor, shall serve as ex officio members with nonvoting privileges.

Legislative members shall serve terms coincident with their terms of office. Other members shall be appointed for terms of two years. Appointments to fill vacancies, other than by expiration of a term, shall be for the unexpired terms. Vacancies shall be filled in the same manner as the original appointments. All members may be reappointed.

Virginia Government Calendar:

Governor’s Aerospace Advisory Council - 2016
New List of members coming soon!

Staff to Council:

Keith McCrea                                                                     Elizabeth (Lisa) Wallmeyer
Virginia Department of Aviation                                                Legislative Services
5702 Gulfstream Road                                                   901 Capitol Street, Second Floor
Richmond, Virginia 23250-2422                                   Richmond, Virginia 23219-0406
804.236.3630                                                                      804.786.3591                     










Virginia Department of Aviation, copyright Commonwealth of Virginia 2006, WAI Compliant